Day 361

2:30AM:

Our vows knew it.  We will have a conversation later today (probably one of the reasons why I’m awake right now) about our next steps on this path of recovery, of reclaiming healthy.  But our direction, our vows knew before us:

  • “I promise that when you’re taking care of others, I’ll take care of you.”
  • “The beautiful, amazing and loving world you and I create is greater and more everlasting than anything I could have imagined being a part of.”
  • “In my eyes, great love starts not with the words ‘I love you,’ but with the first action of true affection.”
  • “I’ll fix all the cracks when you say you’re broken.”

They were promises of who we wanted to become. We weren’t there yet and we aren’t there now, but we are more there than then.  We had not achieved them, but for one brief moment, one beautiful sliver in time, we both got complete insight into that path.  They are the me version of me, the her version of her, the us version of us.

They were promises we need each other to accomplish.  They are our dreams, dreams we now call to reclaim.  But in fact, we’ve been reclaiming our dreams for ourselves ever since we met.  This is not new, not a new push to work on us.

This is our life together and we shared this path of recovery, these dreams, these versions of us to each other on March 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

