Day 300

4AM:

I haven’t thought about this much, but I’m sure the thought has crossed my mind once or twice.  I run a breakfast program at my school, serving 150-200 students a day, so my philosophy runs counter to what a lot of teachers practice about eating in class.  My current batch of grade tens haven’t gotten used to eating throughout the day so that they aren’t hungry after 225 minutes of class straight, very often with a gym class in there somewhere.

I had my first Master’s class last night.  I ate before and came home hungry.  More than hungry though, I was tired.  I ate what I thought would be enough and given the quantity, I thought it would be.

I woke up an hour and a half ago.  I have not made it back to sleep.  I think I am hungry.  I have promised myself that I want to rest now, so I will not be getting up to grab something (even a drink of some sort).  I am exhausted, but I cannot even sleep because I am hungry.  Not famished, but it proves that in not eating enough throughout the day yesterday – being too busy to listen to my nature and act as my Uncarved Block – I could not make it through the night without being woken up and kept up by HUNGER.

I will lay in bed, tire my eyes and hopefully get to sleep soon.  I will wake up tired.  I will wake up and (hopefully) be strong enough to eat more, having not eaten enough the day before, if that is what my nature dictates.  I will wake up and (hopefully) listen to that nature throughout the day.  I will wake up and not forget.  I will wake up and not forget that if sleeping is difficult when you are hungry, imagine how hard learning can be?

Leave a Reply

